Political Science

Department Chair: Claire Haeg

Faculty: Claire Haeg, Scott Johnson, Philip Kronebusch, Matthew Lindstrom, Manju Parikh, Gary Prevost, James Read, Christi Siver, Richard Virden (Diplomat in Residence), Kay Wolsborn

The political science department equips students to understand political life, to be effective citizens, and to achieve positions of political leadership. The Department makes the following mission commitments:

  • We prepare students for successful careers or graduate study in government, public policy, law, business, the not-for-profit sector, and related fields.
  • We expand and strengthen critical thinking, research, and communication skills of students.
  • We examine politics through innovative teaching, experiential learning, and student/faculty collaboration across the main fields of political science so that students can achieve political literacy appropriate for citizenship responsibilities.
  • We help our students discover and learn the concepts and theories of our discipline so they can integrate new information and events into their own worldviews.
  • We encourage students to adopt the habit of the examined life, to reflect upon themselves in relationship to others, to take risks, to participate actively in political life, and to accept responsibility for their actions.
  • We encourage our students to participate and accept leadership in a variety of special programs, clubs and activities both on and off campus.
  • Finally, we invite students to embrace the Benedictine traditions of service, stewardship, and community.

Visit the Political Science website for more detailed information: www.csbsju.edu/politicalscience.

Major (40 credits)

Required Courses:
111, 121, 211, 221.
One or more of 222, 223, and 224.
At least four (4) additional 300-level sequence courses 
Senior Research Seminar.
The DC Summer Study internship experience for 8 credits may satisfy no more than one 300-level sequence course requirement. Programs of study are developed in consultation with a faculty advisor.

Additional Requirements:
Comprehensive exam, senior year.

Minor (5 course requirement - 20 credits)

For Students Entering 2011 and After
The Political Science Minor is 20 credits and may be taken in the following concentrations:
Political Theory
Public Law
Public Policy
Global Politics

Political Science Minor Concentrations

Concentration in Political Theory
POLS 111, Introduction to U.S. Politics
POLS 221, Political Theory: An Introduction
And any three of the following courses:

POLS 311, Classics of Political Theory
POLS 312, American Political Thought
POLS 313, 20th Century Political Thought
POLS 314, Feminist Political Theory

Concentration in Public Law
POLS 111, Introduction to U.S. Politics
POLS 224, Courts, Law and Policy
And any three of the following courses:

POLS 320, Topics in Law
POLS 323, Constitutional Law: Structure and Power
POLS 324, Constitutional Law: Liberties and Rights
POLS 332, U.S. Congress
POLS 334, U.S. Bureaucracy and Regulatory Law

Concentration in Public Policy
POLS 111, Introduction to U.S. Politics
POLS 222, Analysis of U.S. Policy and Elections
And any three of the following courses:

POLS 330, Environmental Politics and Policy
POLS 332, U.S. Congress
POLS 333, US Presidency
POLS 334, U.S. Bureaucracy and Regulatory Law
POLS 336, Local and Regional Governance
POLS 337, Theory of Public Policy
POLS 339, Gender and Politics
POLS 350, Topics in Public Policy
POLS 351, U.S. Foreign Policy

Concentration in Global Politics
POLS 121, International Relations
POLS 223, Comparative Politics
And any three of the following courses:

POLS 343, Revolutions
POLS 344, Middle East Politics
POLS 345, Developing Nations
POLS 346, Asian Politics
POLS 347, Latin American Politics
POLS 351, U.S. Foreign Policy
POLS 352, Global Gender Issues
POLS 355, International Political Economy
POLS 358, Topics in International Relations/Comparative Politics

Courses (POLS)