Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation founded in 1895. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region of the United States. Their mission is to serve the common good by assuring and advancing the quality of higher learning.

The Criteria for Accreditation are the standards of quality by which the Commission determines whether an institution merits accreditation or reaffirmation of accreditation. They are as follows:

Criterion 1: Mission
Criterion 2: Integrity - Ethical and Responsible Conduct
Criterion 3: Teaching and Learning - Quality, Resources, and Support
Criterion 4: Teaching and Learning - Evaluation and Improvement
Criterion 5: Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness

Higher Learning Commission Accreditation Reports (2018)

HLC Logo