Please update your web browser or disable Compatibility View.

Politics & Public Policy

Johnnie and Bennie Day at the Capitol

The Politics & Public Policy Alumni Club consists of alumni who work in political or policy arenas and meet with students involved with The Eugene J. McCarthy Center for Public Policy and Civic Engagement's Career Mentors Program. Get connected and stay connected!

Mission Statement  

The Saint John's & Saint Ben's Chapters for Politics & Public Policy draw upon the Benedictine heritage of service toward the common good.  Recognizing our tradition of educating civic-minded graduates who serve their communities on the local, state, national, or international stage, these chapters provide a forum for graduates, current students, and others to discuss public policy issues, engage in professional networking and mentoring, and offer public outreach events such as community lectures and conferences. Both chapters are led by chairs from their respective school.

Executive Committee

Club Board Members

  • Mike Charboneau '74
    Chief of Staff for the Speaker of the Minnesota Houses of Representatives
  • Mike Erlandson '86
    Vice-President of Governmental Relations for SuperValu
  • Rep. Joe Hoppe '87
    Member of the Minnesota House of Representatives
  • Rep. Larry Hosch '00
    Member of the Minnesota House of Representatives
  • Pete Lindstrom '93
    Director of Government Relations for the Minnesota High Tech Council, Mayor Falcon Heights
  • Bill McGrann '59
    Partner and lobbyist for the McGrann Shea Anderson Carnival Straught and Lamb
  • Jim Mulrooney '03
    Government Relations, Wells Fargo
  • Vic Moore '72
    Partner and legislative consultant for Franzen  Moore and Associates
  • Gene Ranieri '69
    Director of the Office of Intergovernmental Relations for the City of Minneapolis
  • Dave Rehr '81
    CEO and President of the National Association of Broadcasters
  • Phil Stalboerger '95
    Director of Government Relations for Blue Cross/Blue Shield
  • Matt Lindstrom '92
    Director, The Eugene J. McCarthy Center for Public Policy and Civic Engagement & Associate Professor of Political Science
    Ex-officio Board Member

Honorary Board Members

  • Dan Whalen '70
    President, Whalen Family Foundation
  • George Sinner '50
    Former Governor of North Dakota
  • Dave Durenberger '55
    Former U.S. Senator
  • Rick Nolan '66
    U.S. Congressman
  • Mark Kennedy '79
    Former U.S. Congressman
  • Al Eisele '58
    Editor-at-Large of The Hill

Related Links

Get Involved

Are you interested in creating or joining an alumni club?

Contact Cody Lynch ’14
Alumni Relations Officer