Political Science Department

Think Globally, Act Globally

Politics matter on a local, national and international level. Our students know that, and they know they can make a difference through politics.

Some of our students make this difference by working in public policy, some pursue law degrees, and others immerse themselves in international relations.






Overview of Program

  • Our program begins with important groundwork in U.S. politics, international relations, political theory, and political life
  • It continues with higher level courses in political institutions, public policy, law and courts, and comparative politics
  • It is completed during the senior research seminar, a project that will incorporate all the student has learned over the course of study
CSB/SJU Political Science Department vs. Other MIAC Schools
  • CSB/SJU ranks second to Carleton College out of 12 total MIAC schools in the number of full-time political science faculty.
  • CSB/SJU currently has ten full-time political science faculty members.
    CSB/SJU – 10 full-time faculty members
    St. Thomas – 5 full-time faculty members
    Hamline University – 4 full-time faculty members
    Concordia College – 5 full-time faculty members
    Gustavus – 7 full-time faculty members
Program Highlights
  • Satisfy your IC requirement! Prepare for the GLOBAL Century!
    The Common Curriculum requires completion of a course with an Intercultural Course designation. POLS 121-Intro to International Relations will satisfy that requirement. Sections of this course are offered both fall and spring semesters.
  • Recent CSB/SJU political science graduates have attended Harvard Law School, Stanford Law School, Duke Law School, University of California-Berkeley, New York University Law School, University of Michigan Law School, University of Minnesota Law School, University of Notre Dame Law School, Georgetown University Law Center, as well as many others.
  • Our Mock Trial team is very active and has landed in the top 20 in the National Championship Tournament several times in recent years.
  • The Washington D.C. Summer Study program takes students to Washington, D.C. for an eight-week, eight-credit internship working in various governmental organizations (including Congress)
  • The CSB/SJU Debate team, under the guidance of Dr. Christi Siver in the Political Science Department, just completed its fourth year.  CSB was host to the 29th Annual Minnesota State Intercollegiate Speech and Debate Championship Tournament in February, 2013.

News and Media
Constitution Day Links

Alumni profile

 Matt Reubendale '06, UST MBA '13

What do you think was valuable about your experiences as a POLS major?

"I had the opportunity to work with Dr.  Scott Johnson and Dr.  Claire Haeg quite a bit. Dr.  Haeg's classes were much more practical, the actual how to get things done in politics. Dr.  Johnson's classes were theoretical; questioning the foundation of the politics themselves. Every day I'm balancing similar conversations with my customers and employer. There are times when it is appropriate to ask, "Why do we do it this way?" but there are other times when you simply do it that way to get it done. In my experience, many people will focus on one or the other throughout their careers but thanks to my experiences with Dr.  Johnson and Dr.  Haeg I've been fairly effective at balancing the two. It's been a quality that I've been told is unique, and one that I do not think I could have gained without a POLS background."

Learn more about Matt!


Truman Scholars

Two in a Row for the Political Science Department!

Tyler Brown was named a 2014 Truman Scholar by the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation.  Read his story.


Rachel Mullin was named a 2013 Truman Scholar by the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation. Read her story.

Our department has  a proud history of Truman Scholars.:

  • Peg McGlinch 1994
  • Emily Dahm  1996
  • Dan Boland 1996
  • Amy Hertel 1998
  • Brendan Kelly 1998
  • Rachel Mullin 2013
  • Tyler Brown 2014

CSB/SJU Political Science Major Barry Griffin ('09) Moots for Her Majesty.

Contact Us

Dr. Claire Haeg
Department Chair
Simons 144
Saint John's University
(320) 363-2080

Sheila Hellermann
Department Coordinator
1st floor Simons Hall - SJU
(320) 363-2731