Three employee recognition events honor administrative and support staff

Bookmark and Share

May 16, 2013

Three employee recognition events were held in May to honor administrative and support staff from the College of Saint Benedict, Saint John's University and the Order of Saint Benedict.

Employees were recognized for retirement and years of service. In addition, several special awards were presented.

Johanna Davis, learning enhancement services; Jo Eiynk, academic advising; Maribeth Overland, student activities and leadership development; Beverly Radaich, English; Roger Young, admission.

CSB - Donna Matthews, business office; Shirley Miller, culinary services.

SJU - John Gagliardi, athletics; Kathy Heck, dining services; Mary Ann Kammers, dining services;  Ruth Miller, dining services; Mary Streit, custodial services.

OSB (includes Saint John's Abbey, Liturgical Press and Saint John's Preparatory School) - Charles Burg, physical plant; Clarence Fowler, physical plant; Gerald Notch, physical plant; Lori Pfannenstein, Prep School; Fr. Hilary Thimmesh, OSB, Benedictine Institute of Saint John's.

Five years:
Carol Abell, human resources; Erik Aschenbeck, admission; Kelli Gradin, McNeely Center for Entrepreneurship; Jillian Hiscock, admission; Marah Jacobson-Schulte, experiential learning and community engagement; Kevin Knodl, fine arts programming;  Adam Konczewski, library-media services; Kathryn Olson, student employment and financial aid; Peggy Retka, office of education abroad; Bonita Woodard, biology.

CSB - Albert Alexander, security; Deborah Blitvich, institutional advancement; Brian Bohlig, security; Chris Brake, grounds; Cynthia Dockendorf, president's office; Paul Erickson, custodial; Diane Hageman, communication and marketing; Rebecca Lindom, culinary services; Danette Molitor, culinary services; Joan Pfannenstein, culinary services; Heather Pieper-Olson, institutional advancement; Mary Kay Plombon, grounds; Kathryn Rock, business office.

SJU - Grace Ellens, School of Theology; Jennifer Emery, institutional advancement; Jeffrey Evander, arboretum; Miranda Hiltner, dining service; Fr. Gregory Miller, OSB, info center; Br. Dan Morgan, OSB, residential life; Joanne Skaj, dining service; Matthew Smiles, life safety; Barbara Sutton, School of Theology; James Triggs, The Saint John's Bible Heritage Program; Jason Ziegler, residential life.

OSB - Sally Ann Battig, Prep School; Michael Becker, Liturgical Press; Bill Boom, physical plant; Brenda Brown, Prep School; Colleen Haider, Liturgical Press; Jennine Klosterman, Prep School; Paul Menard, Prep School; Robert Pogatschnik, physical plant; Richard Primus, Prep School; Matt Reichert, Prep School; Laura Schwindel, Abbey business office; Wei Tan, Prep School; Megan Wagner, Liturgical Press.

10 years:
Patricia Doran, student activities.

CSB - John Doman, transportation; LaRae Foehrenbacher, institutional advancement; Richard Gray, security; Scott Larsen, athletics.

SJU - James Dwyer, institutional advancement; Michael Halverson, institutional advancement; Nancy Johnson, institutional advancement; Doris Matter, president's office; Jeremy Scegura, business office; Kathryn Scegura, campus mail center; Kerry Werlinger, The Saint John's Bible Heritage Program.

15 years:
Diane Calabria, external grants; Kenneth Cartwright, theater; Jeanne Cofell, education; Carolyn Johannes, theology; Don Neu, library; Debra Wolford, fine arts programming.

CSB - Michael Beltinck, transportation; Robin Balder-Lanoue, athletics; Andrew Deuhs, custodial; Sandy Konz, custodial; Mary Luethmers, culinary services; Marcia Mahlum, campus recreation; Cynthia Rodenwald, culinary services; William Storkamp, security.

SJU - Jack Bowe, athletics; Bonnie Stangler, dining service; John Taylor, institutional advancement.

OSB -Lois Harren, Abbey business office; Greta Noska, Prep School; Mary Theisen, Liturgical Press.

20 years:
Melisa Dick, education; Teri Durbin, admission.

SJU - Fr. Doug Mullin, OSB, student development.

OSB - Paul Stock, physical plant; Michelle Verkuilen, Liturgical Press.

25 years:
Karen Backes, admission; John Clarkson, career services; Mary Dehler, financial aid; Jo Eiynk, academic advising; Shirley Kelly, academic affairs; Colleen Lommel, telecommunications; James Parsons, library; Beverly Radaich, English; Mary Ruble, admission; Rhonda Sauerer, bookstore; Edward Stubblefield, career services.

CSB - Andrew Dylla, power plant.

SJU - John Cofell, life safety; Louis Himsl, grounds; Betty Loehlein, dining service-Sexton Commons; Greg Schirmers, dining service; Shawn Vierzba, life safety; John Young, institutional advancement.

OSB - Br. David Klingeman, OSB, Abbey Guesthouse; Br. Benedict Leuthner, OSB, Abbey business office.

30 years:
Debra Guertin, music; Peggy Roske, archives/library.

SJU - Janice Braegelmann, dining service-Sexton Commons; Karen Schoenberg, business office.

OSB -Fr. Geoffrey Fecht, OSB, Abbey development.

35 years:
Sandra Dirkes, financial aid; Bonnie Kalla, library; Rita Knuesel, provost; Julie Marthaler, communication and marketing; Jane Opitz, writing center; Daniel Sis, library-media services.

SJU - Jerry Haugen, athletics.

OSB - Gerald Notch, physical plant.

40 years:
Roger Young, admission.

Special awards:
OSB Outstanding Administrator Award -
Shawn Vierzba, director of Life Safety Services. The award, named in honor of Fr. Vincent Tegeder, OSB, recognizes service and excellence within the Saint John's administrative community - someone who embodies the spirit of Saint John's, provides quality service and makes a powerful contribution to Saint John's. Vierzba has worked at SJU for 25 years, providing a safe environment for students, staff, monastics and visitors. One example of his leadership with his team was demonstrated in December, when the funeral of slain Cold Spring Police Officer Tom Decker was held at Saint John's Abbey and University Church. Family members, friends and thousands of law enforcement representatives were able to mourn the loss of Decker.

CSB WOW Awards - Awards were given to five individuals and a team who were recognized for "special" contributions and honors. The recipients were: Tom Voller (admission), for creativity in admission marketing with the Breadmobile, which delivered bread to 220 homes of prospective students; Kathryn Enke (president's office), who was selected as a "Rising Alumna" from the University of Minnesota College of Education and Human Development Alumni Society for having demonstrated leadership and achieving early distinction in her career; Jon Anderson (transportation), a Link bus driver who safely avoided a potential accident on I-94 when a semitrailer merged into the same lane as the bus he was driving; Brad Sinn (facilities), for excellent leadership in facilities management and managing winter-related campus closing decisions; a team award to the facilities management team (custodial/maintenance; security; transportation; grounds; power plant operations and environmental health and safety) for providing excellent 24/7 service to the campus community; and Carol Abell (human resources), for leadership in human resources management.