New CSB Board of Trustees members named

Bookmark and Share

July 17, 2014

The College of Saint Benedict recently named Barbara Brandes, John Fitzpatrick, Terri Kallsen and Mark Krebsbach to its Board of Trustees. CSB trustees serve three-year terms and are eligible to serve three consecutive terms.

Faculty member Jean Lavigne and CSB student Lauren Patton also joined the Board of Trustees. The faculty representative serves a two-year term, and the student representative serves a one-year term. CSB President Mary Dana Hinton is also a new ex-officio member of the board.

All seven began their terms July 1. The board consists of 36 members and five ex-officio members.

Brandes has served as the chief executive officer at Lumber One, Avon, Minnesota, for the last 13 years. Prior to that, she served as vice president at Lumber One for 12 years. Brandes also serves as a financial manager with One Mortgage and as treasurer of the Lumber One Development Company. She received a degree in business administration-accounting from the University of St. Thomas, St. Paul, Minnesota.

Fitzpatrick serves as president and chief executive officer at Woodcraft Industries, St. Cloud, Minnesota, a post he has held for 14 years. Prior to his tenure at Woodcraft, Fitzpatrick worked at General Electric (20 years), Graco (seven years) and Nexcycle (two years). Fitzpatrick has a degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Notre Dame and a master's degree from the University of Pittsburgh.

Kallsen is a senior vice president for retail branch services with Charles Schwab, Englewood, Colorado, a position she has held since 2012. Kallsen leads strategic growth and operations for Schwab Private Client, Financial Planning, High Net Worth, Complementary Portfolio Consulting and Managed Team Solutions. Before joining her current employer, she had over 20 years of financial services industry experience. Kallsen earned a bachelor's degree from CSB and a master's degree from the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh.

Krebsbach is the managing principal at CliftonLarsonAllen (CLA) in Waite Park, Minnesota. He has served at CLA since 1987, and became managing principal in 1992. Krebsbach is on the Board of Advisors for the Greater St. Cloud Development Corporation and is on Board of Directors and Forum Leader at the Anderson Center, St. Cloud. He has a bachelor's degree in management (accounting focus) from Saint John's University.

Lavigne is an associate professor of environmental studies at CSB and SJU, and is the vice chair of the Joint Faculty Assembly at CSB and SJU. She previously taught from 2003-06 at Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, Minnesota, before coming to CSB and SJU. Lavigne has a bachelor's degree from Macalester College, St. Paul; a master's from Penn State University; and a doctorate from the University of Kentucky.

Patton is a junior nutrition major from Maple Grove, Minnesota. She has served on the CSB Student Senate since spring 2013, and was a member of the Alpha Kappa Sigma Service Sorority. Patton also served as an advisory board member of the Institute of Women's Leadership. A multi-instrumentalist (piano, percussion, guitar and cello), she is a member of the CSB/SJU Wind Ensemble and Orchestra.