Please update your web browser or disable Compatibility View.

Chemistry Major & Minor

Check out these links that illustrate the opportunities in our department which provides a chemistry program approved by the American Chemical Society:

Cavendish Chronicles Summer 2017

Department Highlights

  • Since 2010, the CSB/SJU Chemistry Department has received almost $1.3 million in funding from the National Science Foundation to support instrument acquisition, scholarships for underrepresented students, curriculum revision, and research!
  • With the help of a $200,000 Transforming Undergraduate Education in the Sciences grant from the National Science Fondation, we are deploying a brand new and transformative chemistry curriculum with courses that integrate the five subdiscplines of chemistry (analytical, inorganic, organic, and physical chemistry as well as biochemistry).
  • Our diverse faculty mentor students in undergraduate research project in areas such as nanoparticles, medicinal chemistry, synthetic organic or inorganic chemistry, and biochemistry.
  • Our chemistry department ranked 16th out of 914 liberal arts institutions for graduates who have gone on to receive their Ph.D. in chemistry.
  • Peterson's Top Colleges for Science lists our science and math programs among the best in the nation.

The number of Chemistry Major's graduating certified by the American Chemistry Society has grown with our new curriculum!


News and Events

Make an appt with a prof or a tutor!

For Davis Deanovic '18, summer internship turns into school year job

Davis Deanovic

Jherian Mitchell-Jones '19 overcomes struggle to win award

Forrest Hyler '16 accepted to Ph.D. program at UC Davis

Forrest Hyler

Articles in the Wall Street Journal and Chemistry and Engineering News about our new curriculum!

Dr. Annette Raigoza received the MFESTS (MN Federation of Engineering, Science and Technology Societies) Young Science and Technology Professional of the Year Award for 2015! This award is designed to recognize outstanding achievements by science or technology professional who is less than 35 years of age. Check on this article on her in Chemistry and Engineering News.

Check out our recent papers on our new curriculum based on the foundational chemistry topics of structure, reactivity, and quantitation in the Journal of Chemical Education.

Drs. Kate Graham, Ed McIntee and Chris Schaller have all received CSB/SJU teaching awards since 2012!

Hear what our students have to say:

Haley Chatelaine

Felicia Burns

Related Links