Faculty

Faculty members offering Asian studies courses bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to their teaching. Through extensive travel or residence in Asia, the professors have developed a deep personal acquaintance with the region. They are committed to sharing their knowledge and to preparing CSB/SJU students for the future. By meeting one-on-one with students, faculty members are able to help them explore possible careers and assess which courses will best help students meet their academic and professional objectives.

Jon Armajani
Assistant Professor of Theology
Main 428
(320) 363-5941

jarmajani@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • THEO 365 - Islam/Judeo Christian Tradition
  • THEO 363 - Religions of the World

Paul Marsnik
Associate Professor of Management
Simons 214
(320) 363-2033

pmarsnik@csbsju.edu

Courses taught

  • ENTR 301 - Creating World-Class Ventures

 

David Bennetts
Professor of History
Quad 357B
(320) 363-3542

dbennetts@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • HIST 300M - Asian American History

Madhu Mitra
Associate Professor of English
Richarda P28
(320) 363-5152

mmitra@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • ENGL 385C - Literature of South Asia

P.Richard Bohr
Professor of History
Director of Asian Studies
Richarda N9
(320) 363-5918

rbohr@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • HIST 319 - Modern Japan 1869-Present
  • HIST 317 - Peoples Republic/China
  • HIST 316 - China in Revolution 1800-1949
  • HIST 115 - East Asia Since 1800
  • HIST 114 - East Asia Before 1800

Kingshuk Mukherjee
Assistant Professor of Global Business Leadership
Main 355
(320) 363-5419

 

kmukherjee@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • GBUS 201 - Principles of Management in a Global Context
 

 

Carol Brash
Assistant Professor of Art
Art Center 110
(320) 363-2867

cbrash@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • ART 309D - East Asian Gardens
  • ART 240 - Topics in Art History
  • ART 208 - Non-Western Art Survey
  • HONR 230E - Photography in China
  • ASIA 200 - Introduction to Asian Studies

Sucharita Sinha Mukherjee
Assistant Professor of Economics
Main 346
(320) 363-5259

smukherjee@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • ECON 316 - Asian Economies

Richard Bresnahan
Artist-in-Residence
SJU Pottery, Joe Basement
(320) 363-2930

rbresnahan@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • ENVR 200A - Environmental Art/Architecture

Manju Parikh
Associate Professor of Political Science
Main 410C
(320) 363-5767

mparikh@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • POLS 346 - Asian Politics
  • POLS 121 - Introduction to International Relations
  • ASIA 200 - Introduction to Asian Studies

Limei Danzeisen
Adjunct Instructor of Chinese Language
Richarda P4
(320) 363-5385

ldanzeisen@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • CHIN 111 & 112 - Elem Chinese I & II
  • CHIN 211 & 212 - Intermediate Chinese I & II

Christi Siver
Assistant Professor of Political Science
Simons 152
(320) 363-2250

csiver@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • POLS 121 - Introduction to International Relations
  • POLS 223 - Comparative Politics
  • POLS 358 - Security

Jeffrey Diamond 
Assistant Professor of History
Richarda N7
(320) 363-5244

jdiamond@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • HIST 116 - South Asia Before 1500
  • HIST 117 - Indian Subcontinent Since 1500
  • HIST 118 - Islam and the West
  • HIST 315 - Islamists, Modernists, Mughals: Muslims in South Asia
  • HIST 305 - Gandhi and Nationalism

Vilma Chiu Walter
Instructor of Hispanic Studies
Richarda P37

vwalter@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • Asia 200 - Introduction to Asian Studies

Sophia Geng
Assistant Professor of Chinese
Richarda P38
(320) 363-5786

sgeng@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • MCLT 315 - Chinese Literature in Translation
  • CHIN 112 - Elem Chinese II
  • CHIN 212 - Intermed Chinese II
  • CHIN 311/312 - Chinese Conversation and Comp II

Charles Wright
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Quad 359C (320) 363-3980

cwright@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • PHIL 339 - Chinese Philosophy
  • PHIL 156 - Asian Philosophy

Wendy Klepetar
Professor of Management
Main 339
(320) 363-5229

wklepetar@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • GBUS 337 - Doing Business in Asia

Masami Limpert
Adjunct Instructor of Japanese Language
Richarda P6
(320) 363-5156

mlimpert@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • JAPN 111 & 112 - Elem Japanese I & II
  • JAPN 211 & 212 - Intermediate Japanese I & II
  • JAPN 311 & 312 - Advanced Japanese I & II

Jean Lavigne
Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies
NewSc 114
(320) 363-3994

jlavigne@csbsju.edu

Courses Taught

  • ENVR/GEOG 312 - Geography of Asia